The highly anticipated mother of all automotive awards in Nigeria took place last week Thursday at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.
It was a splendid evening, organized by the Guild of Motoring Correspondents (GMC) , of the agglomeration of the brightest and best the Nigerian auto industry has to offer as stakeholders gathered to celebrate those who had braved all the odds and not just succeeded with their brands and products but did so in a distinguished manner.
Chairman, Guild of Motoring (GMC), Frank Kintum; Marketing Manager, Dana
Motors, Jimoh Olawale; Chief Commercial Officer, Dana Motors, Sandeep Malhotra
(Receiving Car of the Year Award for Kia Rio); DG, National Automotive Design
and Development Council, Engr. Aminu Jalal; and Zonal Commanding Officer,
Federal Road Safety Corps, Nseobong Akpabio at the 2015 Nigeria Auto
Journalists Awards held at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos

The Kia Rio beat contemporary models from Nissan and Peugeot to scoop the award for the 2015 Car of The Year (COTY). Judged to have been at the forefront of returning great fuel economy, safety ratings and technology, handling, engine performance and generally giving users great value for money, it was not so difficult to see that the judges had no choice but to give it the top spot.
According to Mr Mike Ochonma, Vice Chairman of the GMC, “our 2015 Car of the Year, the Kia Rio, is one of the finest driving vehicles in the world at an affordable price. ”
Going further, he said that; “the Nigeria Car of the Year competition has been around over the years and the strictest criteria apply to the finalists”.
L-R: Executive
Director of Infinity Tyre Group, Rajesh Chawla receiving the Tyre Brand of  the Year Award for Pirelli Tyres from Dr.
Oscar Odiboh at the 2015 Nigeria Auto Journalists Awards held at Eko Hotel and
Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos
In his response to the award, the Chief Operating Officer Kia Motors Nigeria Ltd, Mr Sandeep Malhotra said; “Kia will continue to build cars that brighten people’s lives and exceed their expectations. The Kia Rio has just upped the ante once again. We aim to become a “one-and-only” brand for our customers; a brand they will choose again and again. Also, the Rio is intelligently designed and expertly engineered, adding that every single detail of both the Kia Rio’s exterior and interior seems meticulously thought-out.
Executive Director, Iron Products Industries (IPI), Davies Ike receiving an
award for IPI as the Auto Body Builder of the Year from DG, National Automotive
Design and Development Council, Engr. Aminu Jalal at the 2015 Nigeria Auto
Journalists Awards held at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos
Some of the special guests at this year’s event were the Director General, National
Automotive Design and Development, NADDC, Engr. Aminu Jalal, the Corps Marshal and Chief Executive, Federal Road Safety Commission, FRSC, Boboye Oyeyemi, who was represented by Nseobong Akpabio, Assistant Corp Marshal and Zonal Commanding officer RS-2; Lagos and Ogun States and Dr. Oscar Odiboh; a renowned automobile consultant and corporate communications expert.
Mr. Frank Kintum, Chairman, Nigeria Automotive Journalists Association, said that NAJA, in discharging one of its duties organised the annual event in appreciate deserving brands, products and people who have done well within the year in review. He noted that NAJA has undoubtedly become the hallmark of the auto industry having stood the test of time for over 15 years. “In the automobile sector, it is the responsibility of auto Journalists to watch closely what is happening in terms of launch of new models, entry of new brands as they affected the industry.
Other winners in different categories include ‘Car Company of the Year’; Peugeot. 
Innoson Vehicles Manufacturing won the ‘Indigenous Auto Assembler of the Year’.
Briscoe; ‘Most Enterprising Auto Dealership of the Year’. 
Iron Products Industry(IPI); ‘Auto Builder of the Year’.
‘Auto Assembler of the Year’; Stallion Motors. 
‘Auto Workshop of the Year’; Elizade Toyota.
‘Luxury SUV of the Year’, Range Rover.
‘Truck Brand of the Year’; Mercedes Benz. 
‘Light Truck of the Year’; Mitsubishi Canter. 
‘Independent Auto Workshop of the Year’; Admiralty Motors.
‘Auto Dealership of the Year’; Globe Motors. 
‘Car Rental Company of the Year’; Sixt.
Toyota Hilux won the ‘Pick Up of the Year’,  while Mercedes Benz S-class was adjudged the ‘Luxury Sedan of the Year’.

It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here